Anthony Joshua was beaten by Oleksandr Usyk on Saturday night, for the second time, but somehow one judge managed to score it for the British boxer.

Joshua was absolutely battered in the first fight against Usyk 11 months ago, and was lucky towards the end of the fight that the Ukrainian ran out of rounds to end the fight early.

The former two time heavyweight champion returned on Saturday night to fight Usyk, this time in Saudi Arabia, and certainly did better this time round.

Everyone expected to hear that the 35-year-old had won on all three of the judges cards but, this being boxing, of course one of them somehow gave it to the Brit.

On the first card read out, Joshua was given the fight 115-113 and social media couldn’t believe what they were hearing.

Often in the sport, judges decisions are extremely strongly scrutinised when they massively effect the result, but fortunately on this occasion it didn’t.

The other two scorers both had it to the Ukrainian, with one going for the same 115-113, just in the opposite direction, and the final judge probably closest to what most fans felt, awarding the champion a 116-112 win.

Earlier in the night, fans were annoyed at the decision that went in the favour of Badou Jack, with most viewers feeling that Richard Rivera should have won.

There was more controversy as the eighth round of that fight was actually four minutes, instead of three, after officials failed to ring the bell at the right time.

However, for once the officials weren’t the most controversial part of the night, with Joshua’s bizarre reaction to his loss stealing all the headlines.