Heavyweight power puncher Tai Tuivasa was defeated by former interim 265-pound champion Ciryl Gane in the UFC Paris headliner last weekend at Accor Arena, ending a five-fight win streak and eliminating “Bam Bam” from the division title chase.

But the Aussie earned the respect of “Bon Gamin” by putting the Parisian on his ass in the second stanza, a devastating blow that had Gane in a world of trouble.

“The feeling was just, because I didn’t see anything, talking about his punch, that’s why I fell down, and I think the ground woke me up,” Gane told The MMA Hour. “When my ass touched the ground I said, ‘Oh, what happening?’ And I understood and reacted directly, that he caught me so I go ahead on his legs to grab and stand up, and after that, I took a rest — maybe three, four seconds — and moved away and it was okay, but he touched me for real. He’s really dangerous. You see sometimes you have some guys, you can’t explain, but he has something in his hands, just like that. When the guy touches you, you go down. That’s it. Incredible.”

The victory for Gane keeps “Bon Gamin” in the No. 1 spot in the 265-pound rankings, but drops Tuivasa to No. 4 behind perennial contender Curtis Blaydes. Expect the Top 10 to undergo some additional changes when Jon Jones (eventually) makes his heavyweight debut.

Here’s how UFC compiles its official rankings:

Rankings were generated by a voting panel made up of media members. The media members were asked to vote for who they feel are the top fighters in the UFC by weight-class and pound-for-pound. A fighter is only eligible to be voted on if they are in active status in the UFC. A fighter can appear in more than one weight division at a time. The champion and interim champion are considered to be in the top positions of their respective divisions and therefore are not eligible for voting by weight-class. However, the champions can be voted on for the pound-for-pound rankings.

Take a look at what the latest rankings field looks like courtesy of UFC.com. Note: (+/- = movement in rankings, T = tie, *NR = Not previously ranked).


1. Alexander Volkanovski

2. Israel Adesanya

3. Charles Oliveira

4. Kamaru Usman

5. Francis Ngannou

6. Leon Edwards

7. Aljamain Sterling

8. Dustin Poirier

9. Deiveson Figueiredo

10. Jiri Prochazka

11. Max Holloway

12. Jon Jones

13. Stipe Miocic

14. Petr Yan

15. Brandon Moreno


Champion: Deiveson Figueiredo

1. Brandon Moreno *Interim Champion

2. Alexandre Pantoja

3. Kai Kara France

4. Askar Askarov

5. Brandon Royval

6. Alex Perez

7. Matheus Nicolau

8. Matt Schnell

9. David Dvorak

10. Amir Albazi

11. Tim Elliott

12. Manel Kape

13. Su Mudaerji

14. Jeffrey Molina

14. Tagir Ulanbekov


Champion: Aljamain Sterling

1. Petr Yan

2. T.J. Dillashaw

3. Merab Dvalishvili

4. Cory Sandhagen

5. Marlon Vera

6. Jose Aldo

7. Rob Font

8. Dominick Cruz

9. Pedro Munhoz

10. Song Yadong

11. Ricky Simon

12. Frankie Edgar

13. Sean O’Malley

14. Umar Nurmagomedov

15. Jack Shore


Champion: Alexander Volkanovski

1. Max Holloway

2. Yair Rodriguez

3. Brian Ortega

4. Josh Emmett

5. Calvin Kattar

6. Arnold Allen

7. Chan Sung Jung

8. Giga Chikadze

9. Bryce Mitchell

10. Dan Ige

11. Sodiq Yusuff

12. Edson Barboza

13. Movsar Evloev

14. Ilia Topuria

15. Alex Caceres


Champion: VACANT

1. Charles Oliveira

2. Dustin Poirier

3. Justin Gaethje

4. Islam Makhachev

5. Michael Chandler

6. Beneil Dariush

7. Rafael Fiziev

8. Rafael dos Anjos

9. Mateusz Gamrot

10. Arman Tsarukyan

11. Tony Ferguson

12. Conor McGregor

13. Jalin Turner +1

14. Dan Hooker -1

15. Damir Ismagulov


Champion: Leon Edwards

1. Kamaru Usman

2. Colby Covington

3. Khamzat Chimaev

4. Gilbert Burns

5. Belal Muhammed

6. Geoff Neal

7. Stephen Thompson

8. Sean Brady

9. Jorge Masvidal

10. Vicente Luque

11. Shavkat Rakhmonov

12. Michael Chiesa

13. Neil Magny

14. Li Jingliang

15. Michel Pereira


Champion: Israel Adesanya

1. Robert Whittaker

2. Jared Cannonier

3. Marvin Vettori -1

4. Alex Pereira +1

5. Derek Brunson -1

6. Paulo Costa

7. Sean Strickland

8. Jack Hermansson

9. Darren Till

10. Andre Muniz

11. Kelvin Gastelum

12. Uriah Hall

13. Nassourdine Imavov

14. Dricus Du Plessis

15. Brad Tavares


Champion: Jiri Prochazka

1. Glover Teixeira

2. Jan Blachowicz

3. Magomed Ankalaev

4. Aleksandar Rakic

5. Anthony Smith

6. Jamahal Hill

7. Dominick Reyes

8. Volkan Oezdemir

9. Thiago Santos

10. Paul Craig

11. Nikita Krylov

12. Ryan Spann

13. Johnny Walker

14. Dustin Jacoby

15. Jim Crute


Champion: Francis Ngannou

1. Ciryl Gane

2. Stipe Miocic

3. Curtis Blaydes +1

4. Tai Tuivasa -1

5. Sergei Pavlovich

6. Tom Aspinall

7. Derrick Lewis

8. Alexander Volkov

9. Jairzinho Rozenstruik

10. Marcin Tybura

11. Chris Daukaus

12. Serghei Spivac

13. Alexandr Romanov

14. Shamil Abdurakhimov

15. Blagoy Ivanov


1. Amanda Nunes

2. Valentina Shevchenko

3. Julianna Pena

4. Carla Esparza

5. Rose Namajunas

6. Weili Zhang

7. Jessica Andrade

8. Marina Rodriguez

9. Holly Holm

10. Katlyn Chookagian

11. Ketlen Vieira

12. Taila Santos

13. Mackenzie Dern

14. Yan Xiaonan

15. Lauren Murphy


Champion: Carla Esparza

1. Rose Namajunas

2. Zhang Weili

3. Marina Rodriguez

4. Jessica Andrade

5. Mackenzie Dern

6. Yan Xiaonan

7. Tecia Torres

8. Amanda Lemos

9. Nina Nunes

10. Amanda Ribas

11. Virna Jandiroba

12. Michelle Waterson

13. Angela Hill

14. Emily Ducote

15. Luana Pinheiro


Champion: Valentina Shevchenko

1. Katlyn Chookagian

2. Talia Santos

3. Lauren Murphy

4. Jessica Andrade

5. Alexa Grasso

6. Viviane Araujo

7. Manon Fiorot

8. Jennifer Maia

9. Andrea Lee

10. Casey O’Neill

11. Maycee Barber

12. Cynthia Calvillo

13. Erin Blanchfield

14. Tracy Cortez

15. Molly McCann


Champion: Amanda Nunes

1. Julianna Pena

2. Ketlen Vieira

3. Holly Holm

4. Irene Aldana

5. Raquel Pennington

6. Yana Kunitskaya

7. Aspen Ladd

8. Sara McMann

9. Pannie Kianzad

10. Macy Chiasson

11. Miesha Tate

12. (T) Karol Rosa

12. (T) Lina Lansberg

14. Julia Avila

15. Norma Dumont

There you have it.

You can expect these rankings to change around this time next week, particularly in the welterweight division, following the UFC 279: “Chimaev vs. Diaz” mixed martial arts (MMA) event scheduled for this Sat. night (Sept. 10, 2022) on ESPN+ pay-per-view (PPV) from T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada.

For much more on that upcoming fight card click here.